2022-2023 Sabbatical Leave

The Sabbatical Leave Program provides one and two semester leaves to eligible faculty members to undertake projects of academic significance to themselves and their departments or units. Faculty are not required to be in attendance at the University during a sabbatical leave. The Program is administered by the Dean’s Office of Arts and Sciences for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. This year, faculty may submit the application through DocuSign or through the PDF version. 

Application: 2022-2023 Sabbatical Leave Application [DOCUSIGN]  or 2022-2023 Sabbatical Leave Application and Guidelines [PDF]

Deadline: Friday, January 7, 2022

2022-2023 Competitive Leave

The University’s Competitive Fellowship Leave program allows eligible faculty members the opportunity to take advantage of fellowship offers made through several prestigious and highly competitive national and international programs, e.g. Fulbright, Guggenheim, Mellon, Social Science Research Council, American Council of Learned Societies, without major financial detriment.

Application: 2022-2023 Competitive Leave Fellowship Program Application and Guidelines [PDF]

Deadline (to the FASC Dean’s Office): Monday, April 4, 2022

Please note:  Faculty eligible for faculty leaves must also receive approval by their Department Chair and Dean. Typically, approval is based on the teaching needs of the department and overall budget. If you have questions regarding sabbatical or competitive leave, please feel free to contact Ms. Maria Buckley at maria.buckley@rutgers.edu, (856) 225-2951 or your Department Chair. Also, before submitting your application to the Dean’s Office for final approval and processing, the Department Chair endorsement must be included.

2021-2022 Faculty on Leave

Fall 2021
  • Childhood Studies
    • Sarada Balagopalan
  • Computer Science
    • Guy Kortsarz
  • Economics
    • Noha Emara
  • History
    • Kathleen Epstein
  • Mathematics
    • Debashis Kushary
  • Psychology
    • Kristin August Bauer
    • Ira Roseman
  • Public Policy & Administration
    • Marie Chevrier
  • Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminal Justice
    • Laura Napolitano
  • Visual, Media and Performing Arts
    • Cyril Reade
Spring 2022
  • Computer Science
      • Sunil Shende
  • English and Communication
    • Travis DuBose
    • Lisa Zeidner
  • History
    • Katherine Epstein
  • Mathematics
    • Haydee Herrera
  • Political Science
    • Shauna Shames
  • Psychology
    • Lisa Payne
    • Robrecht van der Wel
  • Public Policy & Administration
    • Michael Hayes
    • Patrice Mareschal
  • Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminal Justice
    • Gail Caputo
    • Daniel Semenza
  • World Languages and Cultures
    • Prospero Garcia
    • Ana Gomez Laguna
  • Visual, Media and Performing Arts
    • LiQin Tan
    • Mark Zaki

2020-2021 Faculty on Leave
2019-2020 Faculty on Leave
2018-2019 Faculty on Leave
2017-2018 Faculty on Leave